Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, 2nd Test, Colombo, 4th day March 18, 2017

Umpire Dar's head-nod confuses Bangladesh

11

Suranga Lakmal was given not out after Bangladesh reviewed a bat-pad appeal off the final ball of the day © AFP

The last ball of the fourth day's play at P Sara Oval was eventful. Bangladesh appealed confidently for a bat-pad catch against the no. 10 Suranga Lakmal, hoping to end the day with their ninth Sri Lankan scalp. Umpire Aleem Dar nodded more than once, and even brought out his hand to his side, but eventually gave it not out.

Mosaddek Hossain, the bowler off whom Sabbir Rahman had caught Lakmal at short leg, said after play that Bangladesh reviewed the decision because they had interpreted Dar's reaction to mean the batsman had edged the ball, despite the umpire refusing the appeal and following up with gestures that indicated not out.

"The review that was taken in the last ball, we became more certain after seeing the umpire that it was out," Mosaddek said. "We were confident so we took the review. He [Dar] nodded his head affirmatively first and then we thought it was out, and at the time we thought that there is a chance to get the decision if we took the review."

In the absence of HotSpot, Ultra Edge or the Snickometer for this series, however, all the TV umpire had to go on were slow-motion replays, which did not indicate an edge. As a result, Dar's on-field decision of not out stayed.

Lakmal had appeared to walk during the appeal, but Sri Lankan batsman Dimuth Karunaratne clarified after play that Lakmal had walked because he thought it was stumps and not because he edged it.

"What happened was that since it was the last ball Suranga [Lakmal] came towards the dressing room as it was the last ball. He didn't nick it. He was coming back to the dressing room as it was stumps."

ESPNcricinfo learned that Bangladesh were not going to press the issue because ultimately they also felt that there had been no edge.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo's Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

Comments have now been closed for this article

  • absar on March 20, 2017, 1:05 GMT

    @The_californian Bring someone in who is better then Aleem dar.do we have except Dharma????

  • Shahriar on March 19, 2017, 10:28 GMT

    lol BD wins! BD wins! BD Wins!

  • graite0848289 on March 19, 2017, 3:48 GMT

    @sohanpandey578: Why are you going all out against BD? Our team might have beaten an AB-less SA, but they also beat a full strength IND. So what's your point? Umpiring has been sub par throughout the match and both teams felt the consequences of the poor umpiring. However, BD still played better than SL regardless. Still long time to go though, hoping BD can knock off the last wickets very quickly so they can have a better chance of winning. Good luck to both teams, hoping for a good fight with our BD coming out on top.

  • Sohan on March 19, 2017, 3:11 GMT

    @RAFIQUZZAMAN gravity_down was absolutely correct. The proble. Is with your thinking. You guys are thinking that You have become a super power in cricket.

    But the truth is You have beaten some weakened team at home soil.

    Remember that You beat SA when ABD was not there

    Even India was a weak team

  • Sohan on March 19, 2017, 3:06 GMT

    @GRAVITY_DOWN Well Said Bro.

  • yasiru on March 19, 2017, 1:44 GMT

    what I think is umpire nod his head thinking batsman is leaving so he nod in appreciation of what the batsman did .but then he realized it was the end of the day and batsman is leaving because of the end of the day .and he didn't get any nick as well as the replays show no nick . can't blame umpire for this because it was confusion all around . about the review it is not a point to go for a review just because umpire nod but instead if you really think he hit the ball you should review it .why does an umpire nod but not giving out ?because he thought batsman is leaving and nod to the batsman.

  • ababil0605652 on March 18, 2017, 22:14 GMT

    No Pakistani umpire in any BD match please from now on!

  • Aman Haque on March 18, 2017, 20:39 GMT

    Hey gravity - is it itching down there?

  • rafiquzzaman on March 18, 2017, 20:24 GMT

    @Gravity_down: Read the report then make your expert(!!) comment. I believe you did not even watch the match and are wasting your words for no reason. Every one else have seen it, Dar has nodded his head not one time but few times along with his left hand came out to raise the fingure but stopped suddenly, which means he was confused about the decision. Anyway you look like from one specific country who do not like BD to do well at all, nothing surprised us, go ahead.

  • Tonmoy on March 18, 2017, 20:06 GMT

    But as an umpire, you can't nod your head to an appeal if you do not agree, decision should be straight forward plus you can take 1-2 sec to reach the decision. He is a great umpire but at the end it was really awful to see him act in this way, any player would be disappointed if after head nod it remains as not out. Another thing, are there any reason to make fun by an umpire on this situation? NO. So if not either u thinking its out or not or whatever, decision has to be straight forward or players will be manipulated everytime.

  • No featured comments at the moment.